WPage 1

Massachusetts Gamma (MIT) Phi Named Member of the Year Within Community


tim_stumbaugh.jpgThe Frederick Gardiner Fasset, Jr. Award (FSILG Member of the Year) is presented annually to up to three individual members of the FSILG Community, one from each of the three student councils (fraternity, sorority, and independent living group), who have most unselfishly demonstrated the qualities of spirit, dedication, and service in furthering the ideals of MIT brotherhood, sisterhood and membership excellence.  The award for the Interfraternity Council for 2011-2012 was presented to Tim Stumbaugh ’12.

Tim served in many roles inside and outside of the FSILG community, being a member of the swimming and diving team, mentoring first year students, serving on the Undergraduate Association, and performing in Dance Troupe.  Tim served the fraternity community as the IFC Vice President, giving him the opportunities to serve on several Institute-wide committees as the voice of the fraternity community.  Within Phi Delta Theta, Tim served instrumental roles such as Ritual Chairman, Steward, and New Member Educator. What others admire most about Tim is his ability to speak up for what he believes is right and to challenge others to think outside the box.

The Frederick Gardiner Fasset, Jr. Award is named for Dean Fasset, a Phi Delt from Colby College, class of 1923.  Dean Fasset shared many dinners at Massachusetts Gamma while he was Associate Dean of Students in the ‘50s and ‘60s.