WPage 1

Housing Commissioner Chris “CJ” Johnston Recognized By Phi Delta Theta


Scroll_News_CJAwardOn the Saturday morning of Old Gold – DePauw University’s ‘homecoming’ weekend, Chris Johnston ’83 was recognized at a surprise ceremony at Phi Delta Theta Fraternity’s DePauw chapter house. “CJ”, as most around campus know him, was presented with a commemorative plaque by Sean Wagner Associate Executive Vice President of Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity of Oxford, OH. The citation was for his long-time service to the Indiana Zeta Chapter, to the DePauw Greek community and to the General Fraternity.

The ceremony was presided over by DePauw Alumni Association Board of Directors officer and Phi Delta Theta brother Charley Meyer ’86 and current Indiana Zeta President Jake Rust ’15. Chapter members and guests were treated to a hearty brunch prepared by House Mother Brenda Terrell and her staff. Also addressing the group was the group’s long-time adviser Steve “Jonesy” Jones ’69.

Mr. Johnston was the key driver in Phi Delt’s successful “Securing Our Legacy” capital campaign as well as the $1 million health, safety and comfort upgrades to the chapter house at 446 Anderson Street – at DePauw’s main entrance. As Chair of the Indiana Zeta Chapter Advisory Board, and previously as a member of their House Corporation Board, he has counseled dozens of officers and breathed life into alumni relations.

CJ is a member of the International Fraternity’s Housing Commission; Chairs DePauw’s Greek Life Advisory Council (GLAC) and has co-chaired DePauw’s class of 1983’s 25th and 30th Alumni Reunion Committee.

Said Brother Meyer, “CJ’s leadership demonstrates that this is a fraternity for life. Further, his advocacy for Greek Life in general has helped strengthened the lives of DePauw students and alumni at the University.”

Mr. Wagner’s remarks included mention of CJ’s contributions and a reading of the award: “In recognition for the outstanding service, dedication and leadership he has provided to the Indiana Zeta Chapter and Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity”