WPage 1

North Dakota Alpha (North Dakota) Colony Member Elected Student Body Vice President



Brett Johnson of the North Dakota Alpha Colony at the University of North Dakota was elected Student Body Vice President in last week’s election. He and his running mate Tanner Franklin, Sigma Chi President, ran on a platform based on tuition responsibility, student organization outreach and campus safety. They will represent over 15,000 students at UND.

Brother Johnson is a Honors/Biology double major with an emphasis in Pre-Med. He has recently served two terms as a Student Senator representing Residence Halls. During that time, he has served roles as the Senate Parliamentarian as well as the Chair of the Appropriation Committee. In addition, Johnson has also been advocating for students at the state level through the North Dakota Student Association. In this capacity, Brother Johnson served as the State Legislative Affairs Committee in addition to his position as Academic Affairs Coordinator. Within Phi Delta Theta, Johnson serves as the Scholarship Chair and is active on the Executive Committee.

North Dakota Alpha also had members elected to the UND Student Senate. Freshman Chase Johnson was elected a representative of the Residence Halls, freshman Sam Lerma was elected to represent the College of Engineering & Mines and alumnus Derek Steiner was chosen to represent the UND Law School.