WPage 1

Iota Province’s Garrett Taliaferro Given Oliver J. Samuel Outstanding Province President Award



The Oliver J. Samuel Outstanding Province President Award was established in recognition of the services rendered by the late Oliver J. Samuel, longtime Mu West Province President. Brother Samuel dedicated 25 years of his life as a Phi Delta Theta Province President from 1969 to 1994. This award’s purpose is to show appreciation for all Province Presidents and recognize, on a biennial basis, an outstanding Province President within the Fraternity.

Brother Garrett Taliaferro hails from the Pennsylvania Iota Chapter at the University of Pittsburgh. Garrett began his volunteer service with Phi Delta Theta as the Chapter Advisory Board Chairman at Northwestern University, home to our Illinois Alpha Chapter, in 2005 prior to becoming Iota Province President in 2010.

Through the frequency of communication with his constituents, Garrett has developed a keen understanding of our needs as an organization and provides insight and ideas to organizational leaders to better the organization and often challenge the status quo.

Garrett has single-handedly established a stronger network for Phi Delta Theta in Wisconsin and Illinois with his individual rapport with undergraduate and alumni leaders. As a result, Phi Delta Theta is a better organization with stronger local organizations and more committed alumni.

For his exceptional performance as a Phi Delta Theta Province President, in the tradition of Oliver J. Samuel, the Fraternity honors Iota Province President, Garrett M. Taliaferro, with the Oliver J. Samuel Outstanding Province President Award!