WPage 1

Tennessee Eta (Middle Tennessee State) Phis Awarded IFC President’s Cup



On Tuesday, March 29, the Tennessee Eta Chapter of Phi Delta Theta at Middle Tennessee State University was recognized as the Interfraternity Council President’s Cup recipient – the highest given award – for overall chapter quality, behavior and programming.

In addition to receiving the President’s Cup, Tennessee Eta was also recognized for outstanding fraternal relations. Examples of the chapter’s involvement in the community include, but are not limited to: supporting events of other organizations, fostering interfraternalism, serenading each sorority, cooking breakfast for their homecoming partners and maintaining consistent representation on the Interfraternity Council executive board.

Not only was Tennessee Eta recognized as a chapter at the awards ceremony, but so were individual brothers. Kyle Gehringer was recognized as Fraternity Man of the Year. Gehringer was also honored as the Dean Judy Smith scholarship recipient. The scholarship honors students who are extensively involved in the MTSU community. Multiple other brothers were featured as True Blue members of the week.

Founded on December 13, 2013, the chapter is one of three recent expansions to the University. Though a young chapter, Tennessee Eta has consistently proven itself as one of the highest caliber. Tennessee Eta continuously strives to raise the bar for fraternal standards and what it means to be a fraternity man.