WPage 1

Arkansas Alpha (Arkansas) Phi Named One Of Two Seniors To Receive The Henry Woods Leadership Award



Two graduating seniors have been chosen for the Henry Woods Leadership Award and will be honored in a ceremony this Friday.

The leadership award is named for Henry Woods, former University of Arkansas student who was heavily involved in campus activities and made a significant impact during his time at the University.

Hilary Zedlitz and Tanner Bone have been campus leaders throughout their undergraduate career at the University of Arkansas. They will receive the award at 1:30 p.m. Friday, May 6 outside of the Associated Student Government offices on the 6th floor of the Arkansas Union.

Tanner Bone is an international business major in the Sam. M. Walton College of Business. He served as president of Associated Student Government this year and was also picked to serve on Chancellor Joe Steinmetz’ transition committee.

Bone said getting involved with things early, staying true to himself, and working with great people have been keys to his success at the University of Arkansas.

“I got involved early in things that interested me, and that expanded my network allowing me to get involved in a variety of other organizations,” Bone said. “My leadership philosophy has always been to always be genuine and to surround myself with good people. I have always tried to stay true to myself, to always be the same person no matter who I am around or where I am. The largest reason for my success on campus is the people who have surrounded me. From mentors to peers, I have been challenged by other leaders who have taught me so much, and have allowed me to serve as a student-leader throughout my time here.”

Bone offers sound advice for new students.

“For incoming students, the best advice I can give is to take advantage of all the U of A has to offer by getting involved,” Bone said. “Whether it is a campus or community group, getting involved early allows you to meet new people, challenges you to think for yourself, and ultimately makes a large place a little bit smaller.”

The Division of Student Affairs has been making this award for several years, which was established by some of Woods’ friends and family.

Skip Rutherford, dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service and a member of Phi Delta Theta, is a 1972 journalism graduate from the University of Arkansas, and was friends with Woods. He helped establish this award in Woods’ name.

“Along with others, we shared a great interest in politics and public service. During his years in Washington, Henry was a master at constituent service and outreach,” Rutherford said. “His legacy proudly lives on through the Henry Woods award. The recipients have done, are doing and will do great things with their lives — just like Henry did.”

Henry Woods was involved in numerous student organizations and edited the Razorback yearbook during his undergraduate career. Following graduation in 1973 from the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Woods worked in Washington, D.C., on the staffs of Congressman Bill Alexander, and Senators David Pryor, Dale Bumpers and Blanche Lincoln. Woods strived to advocate and improve the quality of life for Arkansans during his 25 years of civic service at our nation’s capital.