WPage 1

Oregon Beta’s (Oregon State) Erin Haynes Receives Samuel V. Stone Award As Outstanding CAB Chairman Of The Year

The Samuel V. Stone Outstanding Chapter Advisory Board Chairman of the Year Award was presented to the Fraternity in recognition of the services rendered by a longtime adviser of the Texas Gamma Chapter at Southwestern University. Its purpose is to show appreciation for all Chapter Advisory Board Chairmen and annually recognizes an outstanding adviser within the Fraternity.

This year’s winner of the Samuel V. Stone Award, Erin Haynes of Oregon Beta at Oregon State University, received 18 letters of support. Within these letters, it is easy to see the joy on the page when reading what others have to say about him.

“To say that this award is long overdue would be an understatement,” according to Leslie Schact Drey, assistant dean of students at Oregon State University.

Brother Haynes’ passion for fraternity is impressive and apparent as soon as you meet him. He has served as Chapter Advisory Board Chairman since 1975 and has also served as the Pi South Province President. Erin was instrumental in organizing a fraternity-wide project with the local men’s shelter that helped Oregon Beta align their mission with Phi Delt values.

From his time at Oregon State, to his time of retirement, and even now, Brother Haynes has embodied what it truly means to be a servant leader. Described as a father-figure to members, the glue between generations, and “a walking Phi Delt encyclopedia,” Erin is also a member of the OSU Alumni Club and a cornerstone member of the local Rotary Club since the 1980s. Along with these personal attributes, he helped the Housing Corporation raise over $1.2 million dollars to renovate the Oregon Beta chapter house. This year, Brother Haynes received the inaugural Erin Haynes Lifetime Achievement Award from the chapter.

It is with great joy that Phi Delta Theta recognizes Erin Haynes of Oregon Beta as this year’s Samuel V. Stone Award winner.