Arkansas '88

Stephen Jones

COO/EVP, Dallas Cowboys

Brother Jones graduated from the University of Arkansas with a degree in chemical engineering in 1988. During his collegiate career, he was not only a member of Phi Delta Theta, but also a four-year letterman linebacker and on special teams for the Razorbacks. Jones even started in the 1987 Orange Bowl Classic Game.

His interest in football continued when his father took over the Dallas Cowboys in 1989 and added Jones to the executive board where he has held a role ever since. During Jones’ first ten years, the Cowboys were named the Team of the Decade for the NFL and won three Super Bowl titles. Jones’ main duties with the Cowboys are to oversee the team’s operations, manage the employees within the organization, and determine the salary cap and other player contract concerns.

Some of Jones’ greatest accomplishments in the club has been helping to form contract agreements with wide receiver Terrell Owens, quarterback Drew Bledsoe, running back Emmitt Smith, quarterback Troy Aikman, fullback Daryl Johnston, wide receiver Michael Irvin and cornerback Deion Sanders throughout the years.

Jones was also a major force behind the construction of the Dallas Cowboys Stadium in Arlington. He was the head of the in-house development team for the domed stadium, working alongside community leaders to bring the project to life. The stadium, opened in 2009, houses the Cowboys football field, an art gallery, club seating, and offers guided and self-guided tours. It also hosts the AT&T Cotton Bowl and the Arkansas-Texas A&M football game for NCAA football and was the site of Super Bowl XLV in Arlington.

Before the new stadium emerged, Jones was also the president of Texas Stadium, in addition to his other current positions. Jones now has a standing appointment on the NFL’s New Stadium Committee due to his multiple experiences in stadium management.

Jones continues to be an active member of the Texas community through the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association, Episcopal School of Dallas, Circle Ten Council of the Boy Scouts of America, and Dallas Citizens Council. In addition, he is on the board of directors for the SMU Athletic Forum and a past president of the Dallas Chapter of the Young Presidents’ Organization.